Bloemfontein Camera Club meeting: Outcome of my images submitted – April 2016

It is already time for our May 2016 camera club meeting and I haven’t posted my outcome for April 2016 yet. I was just too busy with other photography admin commitments but lets get immediately down to business. The results of my 5 images submitted to the Bloemfontein Camera club for judging:

Bloemfontein camera club:

http://www.bkk.co.za/index.php/en/home

 

A. Nature category

Just a reminder – no manipulation using computer software is allowed in this category – so what you see was what I’ve captured (and I do not like the manipulation part of Photoshop or photography for that matter).

1.

Flamingo pair 1200 W copy

Flamingo pair – scored 11/15 (Gold award)

Nikon D4 camera, 600mmf4 lens, f8, ISO1320, 1/4000 of sec, -0.67 exposure comp, WB = Daylight, Aperture mode, about 32 meters from the birds.

Early one Saturday morning my wife and I drove to Welkom to photograph the flamingos on the “lakes” around Welkom. With the flamingos moving around, they provided us with some interesting compositions – like this image where two of the birds walked very closely past each other. I just had to wait for the correct moment.

_____________________________________

2.

Jackals fighting high 1920 W

Jackals fighting high – score 9/15 (Silver award)

Nikon D4 camera, 600mmf4 lens, f8, ISO2000, 1/4000 of sec, -0.67 exposure comp, WB = Daylight, Aperture mode, about 32 meters from the jackals.

The image was taken during my last visit to the Kgalagadi in December 2015. A pride of lions killed a gemsbok about 1.5km south of Kji Kji waterhole and were busy feeding on the kill when I arrive just before 07H00. I had to wait for almost 2 hours for the lions to finish their meal. Just after they left the kill, the Black backed jackals moved in (about 20 of them). And this is how they tried to establish domination around the kill. I though this is not really an image to submit to your camera club (wrong direction of the light, busy background) and the judges confirmed it. But I just loved the action and story element and so did the international salon judges as the image received already its 3rd international salon acceptance. Just to show you – do not always rely on the opinions of the judges of your local camera club.

______________________________________

B. Pictorial category

There are just the two categories in our camera club that the photographers can submit images for judging. In this category, anything type of images (you are allowed to manipulate images for this category) can be submitted but preferably not Nature/wildlife images.

3.

Steeple chase challenge 1024 W

Steeple chase challenge – score 9/15 (Silver award)

Nikon D4 camera, 600mmf4 lens, f4,5, ISO2000, 1/8000 of sec, 0 exposure comp, WB = Daylight, Aperture mode, about 50 meters from the athletes

Also another image that I thought is not really a typical camera club image but still I’ve decided to enter the image for judging. One cannot develop as a photographer by just submitting “camera club friendly” photos. Why was I not surprise with the outcome and the score?

______________________________________

C. Set subject – “Something old and in Black and white”

Just to support the club, I decide to enter to two images in this category.

1.

Old wagen BW 1080 W

Old wagon BW – scored 9/15

This image was taken in the museum of our local fire brigade.

_____________________________________

2.

The Grave 1080 W

The grave – scored 10/15

This image was taken a few years ago during a trip I took one Saturday morning down to the southern Free State town of Phillipolis – taken in the town’s local cemetery.

_____________________________________

Message to take home

Like I’ve mentioned earlier in this post – photography is not just about the outcome of the judging process of your camera club. Yes, one can learn so much by attending a local camera club and growth as a photographer. But remember to be yourself and more important – photography is not about capturing what’s out there in the world, it’s about capturing what’s inside your heart. That is why one should go out on a shooting and decide: “I am going to shoot what matters to me. I am going to put more of myself in the image and not what the judges of the camera club or salon competition would like to see. I am not going to listen and follow the crowd – it is my image and I can do anything I like” Therefore, use your camera club to growth as an individual photographer and try not to become just another photographer in the crowd.

 

Until next month camera club meeting – keep on shooting

  1. #1 by Alma Erasmus on June 5, 2016 - 4:01 pm

    Ek stem saam met jou “message to take home” . Well said Willem

Leave a Reply

