Outcome of my photography salon (competition) entries – Month of October 2015

I am catching up on my salon administration while other people are enjoying their holidays at the seaside. While capturing my salon outcomes and preparing the required documentation for Galaxy star rating of the Photography Society of America (PSA), I realized that I’ve received all my results for the month of October 2015. So, without any further unnecessary delays, lets look at the results:

The details of the salons are as follows:

 

Total number of salons entered:

9 (8 international salons & 1 national salons).

Overall outcome:

International: 60 acceptances from 124 photos entered = 48% acceptance rate (decreased from 55% last month)

National: 12 acceptances from 20 photos entered = 60% acceptance rate (increased from 42% last month)

Medals: 4

COMs: 2

Not very often that I received more medals that COMs. There was a problem in India and we received the results from two salons circuit very late. Therefore I’ve included the results from the two circuits from September in this post

Now for the individual salons:

 

A. INTERNATIONAL SALONS

 

  1. SAM CIRCUIT 2015 (India)

This was a 6-salon circuit.

Photos entered: 4 photos each entered in the Nature section = 24 entries

Acceptance: 3 medals, 1 COM & 15 acceptances (79% acceptance rate)

 

Comments: I’ve entered four newly developed photos in this circuit – with what seems to be a successful salon results for me. Early morning drink received the 3 medals and 1 COM in this circuit. The same image also received acceptances in the other two salons – full marks for this image.

Early morning drink 1400 300k 72d sRGB W

Early morning drink

Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa

____________________________________

 

  1. JCM CIRCUIT 2015 (India)

This was a 4-salon circuit

Photos entered: 4 photos each entered in Nature section = 16 entries

Acceptance: 1 COM & 8 acceptance (56% acceptance rate)

Comments: Once again, four newly developed images entered into this circuit. Not such a successful outcome for me (not the same as the previous circuit) but an acceptable acceptance rate (56%) for me, especially if taken into account that it is an international circuit. A very interesting outcome for Attack both side and just to show people how opinions from judges can differ. This image below received the COM in one salon, 1 acceptance in another and 2 non-acceptances in the other two salons.

Attack both side W

Attack both side

Bloemfontein, South Africa

_________________________________

 

  1. BALKAN CIRCUIT 2015 (Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina,)

This was a 5-salon circuit

Photos entered: 4 photos entered each in in Nature section = 20 entries

Acceptance: 2 acceptances (10% acceptance rate)

Comments: Disastrous results for me – only a 10% acceptance rate. Nevertheless, 2 acceptances closer to my goal to receive an EPSA award for the PSA (788 acceptances needed in the Nature section). For all these bigger circuit, I’ve developed new photos just in case I receive three acceptances for an image. For this circuit, I would like to post an image that did not receive any acceptances in the 5 salons but an image I do like – Serval tail. I did enter this image in a subsequent circuit and the image did receive the required 3 acceptances. Just to show you – you should not give up easily on an image you like.

 Serval tail 1920 300k 72d sRGB W

Serval tail

Masai Mara, Kenya

_________________________________

 

  1. 1ST VIBRANCE CIRCUIT 2015 (India)

This was a 3-salon circuit

Photos entered: 4 photos each entered in the Nature section = 12 entries

Acceptance: 2 acceptances (50% acceptance rate)

Comments: If the previous circuit was a disaster, the result of this circuit was even worst. No acceptances = 0% acceptance rate. I cannot even remember when last did it happen to me. Hopefully the circuit organisers did receive my images (LOL), But hey, next month is another month. Lets look at yet another image I liked and I was expecting an acceptance of two. Cheetah lipstick already received two other acceptances and I am trying to get the required three acceptances for this image in order to use it to obtain the PSA Galaxy star rating. Maybe better luck next time!

Cheetah lipstick

Cheetah lipstick

Mashatu Nature reserve, Botswana

_________________________________

 

 

  1. 10TH FRENCH DIGITAL 2015 (France)

This was a 4-salon circuit

Photos entered: 4 photos entered in Nature section = 16 entries

Acceptance: 10 acceptances (63% acceptance rate)

Comments: A much better circuit result for me. Eagle with twig was also a newly developed image I’ve entered in this circuit (first time entry) and the iamge received the required 3 acceptances. Now I can put the image away. Interesting to note that in one of the four salons, not one of my images received an acceptance. Once again – evidence of the differences of opinions of judges and therefore one should not get upset with the outcomes of salons. Just accept the outcome/result and move on.

Eagle with twig 1080 300k 72d sRGB W

Eagle with twig

Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa

_________________________________

 

  1. 3RD OLYMPIC CIRCUIT 2015 (Greece)

This was 4-salon circuit

Photos entered: 4 photos entered in Nature section = 16 entries

Acceptance: 9 acceptances (56% acceptance rate)

Comments: I’ve entering this circuit since the very first circuit was launched a year or two ago and I am enjoying it. Once again, a good result for me with a 56% acceptance rate. Leopard kill was a very difficult image to process/develop in Photoshop and I wasn’t sure about how the image will do on a circuit. Just because it is not really a pleasing image. But this is what nature is all about and one does not get the opportunity every day to capture such action in the wild. And this leopard just gave us a few seconds before disappearing into the bush with the steenbok. So, I’ve decided to give it a try. Surprisingly it received acceptances in all four salons. So, this image is also going to the shelve with the goal of three acceptances per image achieved (PSA requirements)

Leopard kill 1080 300k 72d sRGB W

Leopard kill

Londolozi nature reserve, Greater Kruger Park, South Africa

_________________________________

 

  1. 3RD INDIAN GOLDEN DIGITAL CIRCUIT 2015 (India)

This was a 3-salon circuit

Photos entered: 4 photos entered in Nature section = 12 entries

Acceptance: 1 medal & 4 acceptances (42% acceptance rate)

Comments: A lot of circuits this month and another example of different opinions from judges, Three puppies playing received the judges choice medal in one salon, an acceptance in another salon and no acceptance in the third salon. However, mission accomplished with three acceptances for the PSA Galaxy rating purpose.

Three puppies playing 1024 300k 72d sRGB W

Three puppies playing

Laikepia Nature reserve, Kenya

_________________________________

 

  1. MISSISSIPPI VALLEY PHOTOGRAPHY SALON 2015 (India)

Photos entered: 4 photos entered each in Nature General and Nature Wildlife sections = 8 entries

Acceptance: 4 acceptances (50% acceptance rate)

Comments: Two acceptances each in both sections with Wildebeest help me receiving it third acceptance in international salon. Also – the image to be put on the shelf after receiving its third acceptance. I though this image is just a bit different from the usual crossing images people posted all over the Internet.

Wildebeest help me 1920 300k 72d sRGB W

Wildebeest help me

Serengeti, Tanzania

_________________________________

 B. NATIONAL SALONS

 

  1. 2ND MIDDELBURG SALON 2015 (South Africa)

Photos entered: 4 photos each entered in the Wildlife, Macro, PJ, and Open colour sections= 20 entries

Acceptance: 1 medal, 3 COMs & 8 acceptances (60%)

Comments: Only one national salon this month as the PSSA decided to reduce the number of national photography salons in South Africa. I do not agree with the decision but I am sure the management structure of the PSSA has their reasons for the decision (I heard it is to improve the quality of images entered into national salon – not sure this approach will solve the problem but it is just my opinion. Maybe using a lower acceptance rate will do it). At last – a first for in a long time – I received a COM for a photo entered in the Photo Journalism (PJ) section. I’ve entered Hockey challenge in two previous salons with one acceptance.

Hockey challenge W

Hockey challenge

Bloemfontein, South Africa

_________________________

 

Message to take home:

Looking back at my Wildebeest crossing image of mine and my comment posted earlier in this post, I was thinking of the following issue I am trying to master:

Trying to capture some unique images while developing one’s own style.

I am constantly telling myself when on a photography drive: If the photo I am trying to capture looks the same as the photo everyone else is taking, there can only be one reason: I am doing the same as everybody else and I really do not want to be a copy cat. I want to capture that unique photo meaning I need to think outside the box and do something that nobody else has done before. And this really not easy with all the photographers around today with so many photography opportunities. However, one can continuously ask the following questions: “Am I doing something wrong?”, “Can I change something I’ve been doing routinely on ever trip?”, “Can I change the way I am using my camera/lens/setting?”. Just to highlight a few questions. With such questions asked, I might change the way I’ve captured the image previously and I might get luckly with an unique image.

 

Until next month, keep on shooting

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

