Bloemfontein Camera Club meeting: Outcome of my images submitted – June 2015

It is almost time for our next camera club meeting and I haven’t post the outcome of my images submitted for our June 2015 camera club evening. Rather late than never! This month I was requested to be one of the three judges for the evening – so I was not allowed to score/judge my own images. It was up to the other two judges to do their thing.

Right, so lets see what the two other judges thought of my images – the results of my images submitted to Bloemfontein Camera Club for the month of June 2015:

 

  1. Nature category

 

Just a reminder – no manipulation using computer software is allowed in this category – so what you see was is what I’ve captured (and I do not like the manipulation part of Photoshop or photography for that matter).

 

1.

Lioness and cups 4 W

Lioness and cubs 4 – scored 13/15 (Gold award and winner of this section)

The image was taken at Leeudril waterhole, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa

I decided to re-visit some of my “older” images and try a new Photoshop development workflow on it. So I submitted this image just to see how it will be presented via the data projector. Disappointingly the image looked a little bit flat on the screen. So I went back afterwards and added a bit of contrast and colour to it. I’ve submitted this image now in one or two salons – only time (judges’ opinions) will tell.

_____________________________________

 

2.


The Hug b W

The Hug b – score 12/15 (Gold award)

Image taken in Tswalu Nature reserve, Northern Cape, South Africa

Once again – an “old” image of mine with mine with my newly adapted Photoshop workflow. This image looked must better on the screen, so I decided to stay with it as it is. Now for the salons and judges.

______________________________________

 

  1. Pictorial category

 

Any type of images other that nature images can be submitted in this section and manipulation using computer software is allowed. Like I said before – I do try and minimize this manipulation of photos thing.

 

1.

Fire and water 1080 300k 72d sRGB L W

Fire and water – score 12/15 (Gold award)

Image taken during the fire brigade exercise in Bloemfontein

I just decided not to submit all three my images in the Nature category but also submit a few images in the Pictorial section. This time I’ve submitted a Photo Journalism (PJ) type of image. Also a reminder – no manipulation using computer software is allowed in the PJ category. So nothing was added/removed/changed in this image. I was really satisfied with the score for this image because it is not easy to capture images under these low light conditions (with the highlights in the flames that are very easily clipped/burn out)

______________________________________

 

 

  1. Set subject – “Silhouette

This time I had an image of two that I can use in this set subject – so I’ve entered two images just for the fun of it.

1.

Quiver sunset star W

Quiver tree star – score 9/15 (Silver award)

Image taken during our recent Namibia trip at the Quiver tree forest at Keetmanshoop, Namibia

For those who know Hougaard Malan’s landscapes techniques – giving the setting sun the finger at Quiver tree forest. No further comments

______________________________________

 

 

2.

On the dune W

On the dune – score 9/15 (Silver award)

Image taken during our recent Namibia trip on a dune on Excelsior farm, NamibRand reserve, Namibia

My wife playing the model on the dune just after sunrise. During a landscape photography safari, a few minutes after sunrise the photography session is usually over (Pak op, pak op!!!), Then it is time to play around and so I did. And the result – what they called an arti-farty image

______________________________________

 

 

Message to take home

 

Just a short message on the outcomes of camera club meetings/judging:

“No one enjoys being told what’s ‘wrong’ with something that they’ve created, but it’s going to happen, whether you ask for it or not. Even the best photographers have their critics; so it’s not a matter of skill, it’s simply the way the world works.”

 

My advice: The outcome of the camera club judging should not be taken too seriously. Rather keep on doing what you are enjoying despite the scores/crits of the judges.

 

  1. #1 by John on June 24, 2015 - 7:26 pm

    Awesome lions drinking shot…what a great moment..and lovely angle

Leave a Reply

