Bloemfontein Camera Club meeting: Outcome of my images submitted – March 2015

Three months into 2015 and still going strongly – photography-wise. Strongly because we just returned from our third photography safari for the year. So I do have a lot of photos to process. But lets get back to the results of my images submitted to our local camera club (Bloemfontein camera club) for the month of March 2015.

 

My wife and I could not attend to meeting because we were on a photography safari up in the Serengeti. Very interesting to see that the camera club decided to use only one judge for the evening – the guest speaker for the evening from outside Bloemfontein. So, it was the same judging system used as in January 2015. And once again, I had to disagree with the club on this approach (and I am sure I am not the only one). And my disagreement is not having an outside judge – in fact I did recommend such an approach. However, my disagreement is with a judging system where only one judge is used. Photography is so subjective that it is almost impossible to get a “fair/balanced” outcome with only one judge’s opinion/score. Therefore, I am not even going to comment on the scores I’ve received for my images this month because I do believe it is not a true reflection . Since I’ve started photography, I haven’t come across a photography salon/exhibition/competition where there is only one judge. Makes one think about it. So, here are the results of my images – you be the judge:

 

  1. Nature category

 

Just remember that no manipulation of images in Photoshop or other computer software is allowed in this section.

 

1.

Wet bullfinch 1024 300k 72d sRGB W

Wet bullfinch – scored 7/15 (bronze award)

Image taken from the squirrel hide in Norway

I said earlier I am not going to comment but …..just to say this is my first bronze outcome since I was a 2 star member of the club.

_____________________________________

 

2.

Goshawk shake 1024 300k 72d sRGB W

Goshawk shake – score 10/15 (Silver award)

Image taken from the squirrel hide in Norway

No comment – just asking myself – really???

______________________________________

 

3.

Sea eagle 600 1024 300k 72d sRGB W

Sea eagle 600 – score 11/15 (Gold award)

Image taken from Ole Martin’s boat in Norway

Definitely no comment from my side

______________________________________

 

 

  1. Set subject – “Selective colour

 

I’ve decided not to enter any images in the set subject category – just because I did not have the time to prepare such images.

 

Message to take home

 

While I was looking at the scores for all the images as judged during this particular evening, I think it was maybe a blessing that I was not at the club that specific evening. I can only think a quote I read somewhere on the Internet:

“There will always be those who look only at technique, who ask ‘how’ while other of a more curious nature will ask ‘why’.” (Man Ray)

Yes surely, a judge must look at the technical aspects of an image but that is not the only aspect that is judged. The message that the photographer wants to convey must also be considered – the story telling element of the image. I did not attend this specific judging evening but looking at the overall scores of the evening as well as the images that are posted on our website and some comments I’ve recently, I’ve asked myself the question: “Did the judge just focus on the first part of the quote above or what?” The more reason to have more than one judge per session/competition/exhibition.

 

Until next month camera club meeting – keep on shooting

  1. #1 by michaelsingletonhaworth on April 10, 2015 - 4:49 am

    Willem, it sounds as if you have wings on your feet. I agree about the more balanced system of judging. Can’t wait to more especially from the Serengeti!

  2. #2 by John on April 10, 2015 - 6:55 am

    Willem, for what it’s worth I think your shots are superb. Having had several ‘bad’ experiences with judging, all I can say is remember why you took the photos; to capture an incredible moment you didn’t want to forget and to share that experience with like minded people…..the judge just wasn’t one of them😉

Leave a Reply

