Bloemfontein Camera Club: Outcome – July 2014

Almost forgot to post the outcome of my camera club entry for the month of July 2014. And it is almost time to enter photos for the month of August. Maybe the late posting is because of the information I am sharing with you in the third and fourth paragraph of this post.

 

For the month of July submissions, I’ve decided to enter 2 of the three allowed photos in the Nature division and the other image in the Pictorial division. Our set subject section for the month was Altered reality. I had one photo ready for this section because I’ve tried to follow and use a tutorial I’ve received via my email. The second photo I’ve developed myself after thinking about it for a while.

 

And what a night of judging, scores and critique it was! Just remember – it is my opinion and I am sure it might differ from everybody else who attended the meeting. I do feel sorry for the newbies in the 1 and 2 star groups. But please do not be discouraged by the scores or comments from the judges. The scores and comments is just a reflection of their opinions. And the club is not the alpha and omega of photography (even though some people tend to think so). I would rather challenge each and every newbie in photography to come and attend the meetings AND LEARN from it. Not to take the scores and critique personally – you are not going to survive if you take it personal. Take the outcome of my three images this month for example – very disappointing to say the least. But I know it is the opinion of the specific judges of that evening. If it was three other judges, I am sure my scores would be different – maybe even worse. How do I cope with the critique and scores of the judges after an evening like this? By positive thinking e.g. I know I am better than the 2 silver and 1 gold awards I received this month – evidence thereof is the fact that I was #20 on the Photographic Society of America (PSA) worldwide list for the Nature division in 2013 and I have already 2 images published in the Getaway magazine for 2014. So let me try again next month and not letting the scores of the judges “get under my skin” . I’ll keep on doing what I like best – taking interesting photos that are technical correct and that people can enjoy looking at no matter what the scores of the judges are.

 

So, I dare you – come and experiment with your images at the camera club. Just remember – the camera club is not a place to receive complements but rather expect realistic (but sometime harsh) critique so that next time you can improve. If you want compliments on your photos – post in on the social media like Facebook and feel good about yourself. If you want real critique on your photos, submit it to your camera club and LEARN to improve in order to get the WOW factor in your images

 

Right, let see what happen during the month of July at our club with my photos.

 

A.   Nature category:

1.

Leopard reflection 1 1050 300k 72d sRGB W

Leopard reflection – scored the perfect 11/15 (just made into the gold award category (11-13/15))

Mala Mala Nature reserve, Greater kruger national Park, South Africa

Not very often that one gets the opportunity to capture such an image of a leopard reflection in water – not even taking into consideration the degree of difficulty to get a decent image in very low light conditions (but judges usually do not take such emotional aspects into consideration – so it is no use getting upset about it. Just learn to move on). No matter what the judges think – I like the story element of the image. Thanks to Greg du Toit and Roan Ravenhill from Mala Mala who anticipated the situation, put us in such a position to get the shot and waited for the leopard to come down to drink. Well done, guys and thanks again. .

__________________________________________

 

2.

BB Jackal surrendered 1

BB Jackal surrendered – scored a silver award (10/15)

Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa

Also not sure why this image scored a silver award – it has already received 3 international salon acceptances and 1 national salon acceptance with only 1 non-acceptance in a national salon. Just remember, the judges are very critical when it comes to the technical aspects of an image and I think I see a few technical problems in this image. But like I said – everybody is entitled to his/her own opinion. Please judge for yourself.

__________________________________________

 

B.   Pictorial category:

 

1.

Concerend lioness BW 1024 300d 72d sRGB W

Concerned lioness – just made it into the silver category with a score of 8/15 (8-10/15 = silver award)

Mashatu Nature Reserve, Botswana

 WOW, I was expecting a silver award – maybe because of the cropping that was not ideal. And I am not really a monochrome guru. But the image almost did not even make into the silver award category at all. Interesting score but unfortunately no critique from the judges as they do not usual give critique on the photos of members in the higher star rating groups. But I am going to give it another try next month – I am not letting the judges damping my enthusiasm.

_________________________________________

 

C.   Set subject – altered reality

 

1.

The Look Alt real  1080 300k 72d sRGB W

Looking through paint – received a gold award (11/15)

No comment from my side – very satisfied with the scores as I was not expecting anything more than a bronze award because I was just an exercise/practice run following some tutorial on the Internet. Not everybody’s cup of tea – I am sure.

_______________________________________

2.

Star trail Richters Alt real 1080 300k 72d sRGB W

Road into star trial – received a gold award (12/15)

My own creation – very satisfied with the score. Nothing specially – I was just playing around with different layers.

_______________________________________

 

Message to take home:

 

I think I’ve said it all in the first few paragraphs of this post – please read it again and tell me what you think.

 

Until next month – do not let the judges get the better of you. Please go and support your camera/photo club and learn to become first a better person and secondly a better photographer.

 

  1. #1 by photographytricksandtips on July 23, 2014 - 3:55 pm

    Willem ek dink jou foto’s is puik en die wat swak gevaar het verdien ‘n beter punt. Ek wonder soms of sulke beoordeelaars ook so streng op hul eie foto’s is.

  2. #2 by whk139 on July 24, 2014 - 6:01 pm

    Dankte Josef – ek vra my soms self die vraag. Nietemin – gelukkig neem ek die uitkomste van die klub nie ernstig op nie. Dit gee ‘n mens wel net ‘n aanduiding van die kwaliteit van die foto’s.

Leave a Reply

