Weg magazine: February 2014 Mense se lense competition – Naaswenner (runner-up)

I’ve just returned from a photography safari trip to Kenya (Laikipia & Lake Nakuru) and I’ve read in the Weg magazine that I won a second price in the magazine’s mentioned competition.  So I am fortunate enough to have a third image published in the Weg magazine in just than more than a year. The image was one of my favourite images of the honey badger visiting Cubitje Quap water hole in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park in Sept 2013.

The image:

Honey badger drinking water 1

Honey badger drinking water 1

For more details – see my trip report on the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park (Sept 2013 edition)

________________________________

 

Message to take home:

Do not always just go for the big five when you visit a nature reserve or in the case of the Kgalagadi (where you won’t find all of the Big Five), just looking for lions, cheetahs or leopards. For once, look around you to see what else Mother Nature wants to offer you. That was exactly what I did we I saw this honey badger next to the waterhole. I wanted fro him to lick his lips after drinking some water and I captured the moment. By waiting for the right moment, I got the really interesting shot. I did not expect it to be a winning shot but I also like the uniqueness of the image and it looks like Toast (the judge) from Weg magazine had the same idea. So, by just keeping your eyes (and especially your mind) open for the smaller things around you, you can also get that winning shot.

 

Until next time – keep on shooting!!!

 

  1. #1 by bessie on January 29, 2014 - 5:07 pm

    geluk willem!

  2. #2 by whk139 on January 30, 2014 - 10:13 am

    Thanks Bessie!!!

Leave a comment