Sunday Times – June 30, 2013 (June’s winning picture)

My first entry in the Sunday Times’ photo competition and what a surprise! A winning photo and two highly recommended photos. Well, its seems like all the hard work is paying off but to me it is almost more rewarding just to get shots like these during photographic safaris. Just to experience Mother Nature at her best and to be able to capture it is already worth it.

The Jackal and the Vulture photo was taken from the vulture hide at Giant Castle in the Drakensberg. The photo also received a medal in the Hoylake International Photographic Exhibition in 2012. And it was just by “mistake” that I was invited at the last minute to join my wife and her photography friend (Margaret) at the hide in October 2011. I was still busy with my Beginner Photography Course (Prof Gert) and did not know much about photography at that stage. It was my first ever photography safari and I was very nervous but also excited. Luckily my wife and Margaret were very supportive and helpful and I got a handful of great shots after the weekend. Thanks Margaret for all your support – I really appreciate it.

The other two photos were both posted on my blog in the past and need no introduction. Taken from the specially designed photography boat of Lou Coetzer – thanks Lou!

Thanks Sunday Time for the competition and selecting some of my images to be included in your competition and printed in your paper.

Here are the photos:

Vulture and the jackal

The Jackal and the Vulture

______________________

Coming for lunch

Coming for dinner

________________________

Hippo kiss

Hippo kiss

__________________________

Message to take home:

I read somewhere on the Internet that great photography is a balance of technical and artistic. You need to develop both parts of that equation. Great photos focus on the elements of storytelling but the images should both be technically sound, and interesting enough to draw the viewer in to the images. Great advise and I am constantly thinking about what kind of stories my images can tell while I am driving around in the parks.

Until next time – keep on thinking and shooting!!!

,

  1. #1 by puppy1952 on June 30, 2013 - 9:03 pm

    You photographs certainly tell me a story but leave me wondering too – how on earth did you get that photo of the jackal and the vulture – it is brilliant!

  2. #2 by bessie on July 1, 2013 - 5:43 pm

    congratulations and well done willem!!

  3. #3 by whk139 on July 3, 2013 - 5:48 am

    Hi Puppy & Bessie – thanks for the kind words.

    @Puppy – it was taken from a vulture hide in Giants Castle and I was focusing on the vulture when all of a sudden the jackal appeared from underneath the ledge.

    @Bessie – now it is your turn, go for it!

Leave a Reply

