Mazda Wildlife Photo Competition: April 2013

March 2013 was not a “lucky” for me re: the Mazda Wildlife Photo Competition. None of my images reached the finalist panel.  This month it was a turn around for me and two of my images were selected finalists. Unfortunately they were not in the prices. Still, I am satisfied with the two images reaching the finalist panel.  Congratulations to the winners of the April 2013 competitions – some great images. For those who are interested:

http://mazdawildlifephotography.com/2013-2/april/

My two photos in the finalist panel were:

Lapwing with butterfly 1400 500k 72d sRGB noise W

Lapwing with butterflies

Taken on the Chobe River from Lou Coetzer’s photography boat in March 2013

___________________________

Hippo at sundown 1 1024 500k 72d sRGB W

Hippo at sundown

Taken during the same trip on the Chobe River from Lou Coetzer’s photography boat

_________________________

Message to take home:

Both the photos shown above are not your usual wildlife photos – that is why I was not sure what the opinions of competition judges will be when they are looking at photos like these. But Lapwing with butterfly already received 2 (from only 2 entries) international salon acceptances and I am awaiting the results of a salon circuit in which I’ve entered Hippo at sundown.  The Chobe River an Lou’s boat is nothing new to me but sometimes one needs to be creative with your photos. So, if the going is slow and unexciting, you need to ask yourself is there an unusual way to look at your surroundings? My question was: “How many shots can you take of hippos?” Therefore, I decided to find a new way of seeing all those things you’ve seen a bazillion times. The Lapwing does not really fall in the category because it was a very special sighting but what about the hippo? Well, I’ve tried and now I am waiting to see what the judges think of it.

Until next month’s Mazda Wildlife Competition – keep on shooting!!!

,

  1. #1 by puppy1952 on May 19, 2013 - 4:26 pm

    Well Willem in my humble opinion these two photographs are just stunning. I love the light on the hippo and I can feel myself there with the lapwing and butterfly – what a super experience to see that.

  2. #2 by whk139 on May 28, 2013 - 6:00 am

    Thanks Puppy, both were wonderful sightings and a real challenge to get it right. So glad you are enjoying it. Hopefully there are more to come.

Leave a Reply

