Bloemfontein Camera Club: May 2013

Last Tuesday was again the first Tuesday of the month and it was time to go another round with the judges of Bloemfontein Camera Club. Unfortunately I could not attend the club meeting because I was with some of our friends and Hougaard Malan on a photographic safari at Hole in the Wall in the Eastern Cape (see my trip reports). I decided to do the same as last month –  entered two photos in the Nature division and one photo in the Pictorial section. The set subject was the Free State in the autumn but I decided not to submit any photos. Here are the three photos and the scores:

A. Nature section for 4 & 5 star members:

Martial eagle nesting material  2 1024 500k 300d sRGB noise

 Martial eagle nesting material 2 –  scored 13/15 (Gold award, once again just missing out on a COM which is 14/15 or 15/15)

Taken during my recent trip to the Kgalagadi and I’ve spent 2 hours with the two martial eagles. What a sighting and patience paid off!!!

_____________________________

Lion reflection 1

  Lion reflection 1 – score 9/15, a silver award. Taken during my recent trip to the Kgalagadi at the big hole a few hundred meters from Kji Kji water hole. Hopefully the image is telling a story to you – it definitely does to me and that was the reason why I submitted to image for judging.

_____________________________

Pictorial section for 4 & 5 star members:

My photo submitted in the Pictorial section:

Aggressive 800m start 768 500k 300d sRGBc

  Aggressive 800m start b – score 11/15 – gold award. Taken during the Free State Schools Athletics meeting – I think it was the 800m for the 14 years (boys) starting. An improvement of 2 points from last month’s Pictorial photo – looks like I am moving forward(?). I did not really expect a gold award but I just love the interaction/competitiveness between the two young athletes.

____________________________

Message to take home:

After my silver award for the Lion reflection 1 this month, I was thinking of the following piece of advice (for the readers but also for myself):

Just saying things like “this image is bad” isn’t really helpful. One must ask yourself the question: “Why is it bad?” If you look at a photo you should ask yourself the right questions.  Then you would be able to give the photographer better critique. Rather than asking: “Do you like this photograph?”, ask instead, “What story do you see in this image?” or “What do you feel when you look at this image?”.  Such questions can even be asked  to non-photographers as well. The answers may be surprising, but it definitely will most likely be helpful. So, do not be demotivated by the actual scores/outcomes of your images – rather ask yourself: “How can I improve my current photography skills so that the reader can appreciate my images?”

Until next month’s club meeting – don’t be discouraged by the outcome of club meetings or even salon competitions – just keep on shooting!!!

  1. #1 by Jan Reyneke on May 13, 2013 - 1:13 pm

    Ek hou van jou “Pleister” – message to take home.

  2. #2 by whk139 on May 15, 2013 - 11:46 am

    Thanks, Jan – sit die pleister maar op waar dit sal werk!

Leave a Reply

