Outcome of my salon entries – month of March 2013

This weekend I’ve just received the results of my last outstanding salon for March 2013. So it is time to prepare my monthly post on the outcome of the national and international salons entered in the month of March.

 

I’ve entered a total of 8 salons during the month of March – 2 national salons and 6 international salons. Once again, lucky was on my side this month as I received acceptances in all 9 salons – in one salon by the narrowest of margin (only one acceptance). But lets look at the individual salons:

 

1. 2nd Randburg Salon of Colour Photography 2013 (SA):

With national salons in South Africa, I do try and support the clubs hosting the salon by entering photos almost all the sections. Entered 4 photos each in Nature – Birds, Nature – general, Sport, and Landscapes section. Therefore a total of 16 photos in the salon. 2 acceptances each in the Birds and Sport sections, 1 acceptance in Nature – General section and 3 acceptances in the Landscape section. A total of 8 acceptances making it an acceptance rate of 50%. Not too bad. My first try at Sport photography and Tackle without the ball received an acceptance. The photo was taken during a pre-game for the Varsity Cup this year and I am sure it was the “clean” background that did it for the photo:

 

Tackle without the ball 1 1024 500k 72d sRGB W

Tackle without the ball

_______________________________

2. German International DVF-Photocup 2013 circuit (Germany):

My second time to enter a DVF-Photocup circuit. Great memories of last year when I won my first ever international medal with Hippo run. This was once again a 3 salon circuit and I’ve entered 4 photos in the Nature sections. Received 6 acceptances from a possible 12 acceptances giving me another 50% acceptance rate. Gemsbok dusty fighting received acceptances in all three salons. Photo taken late afternoon next to Leeudril waterhole in the Kgalagadi.

 

Gemsbok dusty figthing 1 1024 500k 72d sRGB W

Gemsbok dusty fighting

___________________________

3. 2nd International Exhibition of Art Photography Street 2013 (USA):

Entered 4 photos in the Nature and 4 photos in the Open section. All 4 photos in Nature section received acceptances but none in the Open section.  Another 4/8 acceptances and 50% acceptance rate. I’ve entered Young wet hyena for the first time in a salon and now three salon further, it received acceptances in all three salons.  Seems like the judges like this portrait of a young hyena after playing in a water hole  in Kgalagadi.

 

Young wet hyena 800 500k 72d sRGB W

Young wet hyena

___________________________

 

4. 22nd Trierenberg Super circuit (Austria):

My first time to enter this well-known 4 salon circuit in Austria. The circuit does have a lot of sections but I decided just to enter 4 photos in the Nature division (recognised by FIAP & PSA). Received 11 out of a possible 16 acceptance making it a 69% acceptance rate. Goshawk flying received acceptance in all 4 salons – taken at Cubitje Quap water hole in the Kgalagadi.

 

Goshawk flying 1600 500k 72d sRGB W

Goshawk flying

___________________________

5. 1st Bangkok Photography Society International Exhibition 2013 (Thailand):

My first ever salon entry in Thailand. I decided to enter 4 photos in the usual Nature section  but also to enter 4 of my landscape photos in the Travel section. Not a very successful salon with none of the photos accepted in the Travel section and only 2 acceptances in the Nature section – 25% acceptance rate (which is the norm for a salon – the judges usually accepted between 15-30% of the photos entered in a salon). A first salon entry for Lion drinking water sideways with an acceptance in it first salon.

 

Lion drinking water sideway 3 768 500k 300d sRGB

Lion drinking water sideways

___________________________

 

 

6. 67th Bristol International Salon of Photography 2013 (UK):

My second entry in this annual salon. As with the previous salon in Thailand, I decided to enter 4 photos in the usual Nature section and to enter 4 of my landscape photos in the Travel section. Once again, not a successful salon with none of the photos accepted in the Travel section and only 1 acceptances in the Nature section – 13% acceptance rate. Now I am going backwards but I am not worried. Entering some new photos in salons and “testing the waters” with it. The only acceptance was the portrait photo Young wet hyena mentioned and displayed earlier in this post. I’ve decided Elephant baby feeding is not a salon-type of photo as it did not received an acceptance in any of the 4 salons entered. Maybe it is because the foreground of the photo (front part of the bay elephant) is blurred – very crucial as your foreground should usually not be blurred. So, this photo is going to the trash bin. Lesson learned – make sure about your depth of field setting (f-stop) before taking a specific photo.

 

Elephant baby feeding 1024b 500k 72d sRGB W

Elephant baby feeding

___________________________

7. 2nd Edenvale Photographic Club National Digital Salon 2013 (SA):

The second national salon of the month and I’ve entered 4 photos each in Nature – Birds, Nature – general, Open – pictorial Photojournalism and Animal portraits section. Therefore, a total of 20 photos in the salon. Lioness with cubs drinking water 3 was awarded the first place, PSSA silver medal and a COM award in the Nature – General section. Furthermore, I received another COM for Hippo yawn 3 and a total of 10 out of a possible 20 acceptances – once again an acceptance rate of 50%. :

 

Lioness and cubs drinking water 3 1024 500k 72d sRGB warm W

Lioness with cubs drinking water 3

_______________________________

8. San Joaquin Valley (SJV) International Exhibition 2013 (USA):

The second time I’ve entered a salon from SJV. There were two sections – Nature and Wildlife – and I’ve entered 4 photos in each section. Only the 4 photos entered in the Wildlife section received acceptances giving me another 50% acceptance rate. How about a kiss received its third acceptance (meaning now I can put the photo away) in as many as 8 salon entries. Seems like the judges did not like this image.

How about a kiss

How about a kiss

_______________________________

And that was another month of salon entries and results – mixed success but overall I am very satisfied. Always a challenge to entry a “new” photo for the first time and then one wonders whether the photo has the necessary impact during that 1-2 seconds that the photo is shown to the judges. But remember my Message to take home:

Message to take home:

If you like your photo, it is already a success. Just look at my Lioness with cubs drinking water 3 – it only received a gold award (12/15) during our monthly club meeting but in a national salon, it wins the first price in the Nature section. Interesting.

Until next month’s salon results, keep on shooting

 

 

, , ,

  1. #1 by Klinika dentystyczna on August 1, 2013 - 1:07 pm

    Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

Leave a Reply

