Trip report: Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, April 2013 (“Live edition”)

I am not sure if this is going to work because I am sitting in Twee Rivieren (in the park) right now and I just want to post a photo or two of my current trip. First of all, the photos were developed on my laptop (not great) – so I am sure about the quality. I am struggling will my colour profile on this laptop. Also, the Internet connection is very slow. But lets give it a try.

 

Arrived yesterday around 17H00 at Twee Rivieren and had a quick drive up to Rooiputs. Nothing really happening except this jackal with some backlighting.

 

BB jackal backlight 1

BB jackal with backlight

Nikon D800, Nikon 200mm-400mm lens @ 400mm, ISO800, 1/3200, f4, exposure comp = -0.7, Aperture priority, WB = sun.

___________________________________________________________

 

This morning I was busy taking photos of a Gabar goshawk taking a bath at the big hole near Kji Kji when this lion appeared and started to drink water.

 

Lion head

 

Lion head

 

Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mm lens with 1.4 convertor = 850mm, ISO1250, 1/8000, f5.6, exposure comp = -0.7, Aperture priority, WB = sun. As you can see from my camera settings, I was still prepared for the goshawk to take off from its bath. Totally forgot to change the camera settings.

__________________________________________

 

Lion reflection 1

Lion reflection 1

Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mm lens, ISO200, 1/3200, f4, exposure comp = -0.7, Aperture priority, WB = sun. This time my camera settings were better – I had some time to adjust it.

_____________________________

 

On my way back to Twee Rivieren, I came across this secretary bird drinking water at Houmoed water hole – just not the right time of the day, unfortunately.

 

 

 Secretary bird drinking 1

Secretary bird drinking water 1

Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mm lens, ISO640, 1/5000, f5.6, exposure comp = -0.3, Aperture priority, WB = sun.

___________________________________

 

Tomorrow I am off to Mata Mata, then it is Nossob and I’ll be back at Twee Rivieren on Friday afternoon. So no more internet/cellphone connection until Friday.

 

Untill next time, keep on shooting!!!

  1. #1 by de Wets Wild on April 21, 2013 - 2:17 am

    Enjoy your visit to the beautiful Kgalagadi Willem – we are definitely jealous! We are looking forward to more of your beautiful photographs as well.

    Wont you give us a sentence or two on the condition of the roads inside the Park when you return – we’re planning a visit but the roads are weighing heavy on our minds, having broken off a wheel on a previous visit.

    • #2 by whk139 on April 27, 2013 - 12:59 pm

      Hi De Wets, I’ll comment and post a image of the road conditions to Mata Mata in part 2 of my trip report later this weekend. I took the photo especially for you – so, be on the look-out and enjoy the trip with me once again!

Leave a Reply

