Mazda Wildlife Photo Competition: December 2012/January 2013

At the end of last year I decided to give the Mazda Wildlife Photo Competition (monthly) a go and I submitted what I thought were 8 (maximum allowed) great photos. Later through the month of January I saw there were great photos submitted by other photographers and what a surprise when I saw my Meyers’ Parrot interaction photo was awarded the third place for the monthly competition. A special thanks to C4 Images & Safaris and Isak Pretorius for giving me the opportunity to visit the elephant hide in Mashatu Nature Reserve and to get a photo like this:

Meyer Parrot interactionMeyers’ parrot interaction – for more details please visit my trip report on Mashatu Nature Reserve.

Message to take home:

I’ve entered 8 photos via the Internet in this monthly competition and this specific photo was not my favourite of the 8 photos submitted. Just to show you that even your own opinion is not always correct (or acceptable). I would advise the readers to show your photos to as many people as possible in order to get a “feeling” for a specific photo. Look at the technical and composition aspects as well as the story telling elements. Do not let your own personal opinion of even your emotions get the better of you when it comes to select a photo that you want to enter in a competition. It is therefore no surprise if I told you that I’ve  already submitted another 8 photos of mine for the February 2013 competition. Let us see what the outcome would be.

Untill the next competition result, keep on shooting!!!

  1. #1 by Blackheads On Nose on September 6, 2013 - 10:27 pm

    I visit day-to-day a few web sites and websites to read articles,
    but this blog presents feature based writing.

  2. #2 by TRAURINGE fuer die Hochzeit Trends: Reportage on June 30, 2014 - 4:45 pm

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

