Outdoorphoto & Campworld’s Big5 photographic contest – 2012

Late in 2012 I came across this photographic contest on the Internet and I decided to give it a go. All photos of a wildlife, nature or pictorial content may be entered. Running throughout 2012, photographers could have entered four images per month. Every month, three highly-commended images would have gone forward to the finals, which was held at the end of 2012. On certain months, there were bonus image entries, in which case more than one image may have been entered.

My first entry was in Aug 2012 with 4 photos. Unfortunately none of the photos has won a price. I only won a cap in the lucky draw. Like I’ve mentioned earlier on my blog; Never give up, so I decided to give it another try in Sept 2012. I’ve entered another 4 photos and time around Red Dunes was selected as one of the finalists for the end-of-year competition.

Red dunes by Willem Kruger1

Red Dunes

Taken during our photographic safari with C4 Images & Safaris (with Hougaard Malan) in Namib Randt in Namibia – for more details, please read my trip report elsewhere on my blog.

_______________________

In October 2012 I’ve entered another 5 photos and Hippo yawn 1 was selected as a finalist.

Hippo yawn 1 by Willem Kruger1

Hippo yawn 1

Taken during our photographic boat safari with Coetzernaturephotography on the Chobe River, Botswana – for more details, please read my trip report elsewhere on my blog.

___________________________

In November 2012 I’ve decided to give it another try and entered another 5 photos. Hippo aggression 2 was selected as a finalist.

Hippo aggression 2 by Willem Kruger1

Hippo aggression 1

Taken during our photographic boat safari with Coetzernaturephotography on the Chobe River, Botswana – for more details, please read my trip report elsewhere on my blog.

___________________________

In December 2012 I’ve entered another 5 photos but I have not receive the outcome of that month’s competition. I also could not find the finalists’ photos on the website. Earlier this month I’ve visited the Facebook page of this competition and saw the final price winners’ photos. Unfortunately I was not one of them – so congratulations to all of them. To me it was a very interesting (learning) experience. Thanks to the organisers and sponsors for this competition.

Message to take home:

Never take the outcome of a photo competition personally – even if you won or not. Everybody is entitled to his or her opinion. Just enjoy yourself taking photos, developing it and presenting what you think are your best photos to the public.

Until the next photo competition – keep on shooting!!!

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

