WildPhotoMag: Readers gallery Jan/Feb 2013

Well, this month I was not so lucky as none of my low angle photos were accepted in the challenge gallery (low angle) . Also, none of my portrait landscapes/macro photos posted on WildPhotoMag’s Facebook (for the front page) received enough votes to be considered for the front page of this month magazine. But I am sure you would agree with me – the three finalists for the front page were excellent photos. So are the finalists in the low angle gallery. Well done to the photographers.

However, one of my landscape photos I’ve entered for the front page image challenge was selected for the Readers gallery in this edition of the magazine. The magazine can be read on:

http://www.wildphotomag.co.za//Jan_Feb_2013/Jan_Feb2013_HQDBL/WPM_Jan_Feb_2013_HQDBL.html

This is the my image in the Readers gallery:

Dune tracks to Choc mountain 1024

Dune tracks to Chocolate mountain

Nikon D3S with Nikkor 17 x 35mmf2.8 @ 32mm, ISO200, f11, 1/25sec, exposure = 0, manual mode, on tripod.

The  photo was taken during our photographic safari with C4 Images & Safaris on the farm Excelsior in the Namib Rand reserve in Namibia with Hougaard Malan and Shem Chompion. Early in the morning after sunrise and we were moving down the dunes after taking some sunrise shots. We were making our way back to the vehicle to be taken back to the lodge when I saw the tracks on the dunes, the grass and the clouds.

_______________________________

Message to take home:

Always be positive about your photos. I still remember (and I won’t forget it) the words of Prof Hennie Cronje during one of my first photography course: “If you like your photo, it is a success”. Not matter what other people have to say about. And the people I am talking include salons and other competitions as well. I do use salons and competitions as a benchmark and I do not take the outcomes personally. If I did, I would have stopped taking photos long ago.

Until the next photo challenge, stay positive and keep shooting.

,

  1. #1 by bessie on January 2, 2013 - 7:02 pm

    Goeie en wyse raad.

  2. #2 by whk139 on January 12, 2013 - 5:08 am

    Thanks Bessie!!

Leave a Reply

