Bloemfontein Camera Club – Aug 2012

Well, well, well, what a surprise! Last month I was still a 3 star member and won the best photo in the Nature division in the 3 star division. Since then I was promoted to a 4 star membership and I had to enter my photos for the monthly club evening in a new class in August 2012.  The 4 and 5 star members’ photos are judged together and I thought: “Well, now I am between real photographers and just enjoy the ride.” What a surprise when my photo of the Bulbuls won the Nature division for the 4 & 5 star members (26 photos submitted) with a score of 12/15. Here is the photo once again and the details are posted in an earlier post (Mashatu trip report):

Bulbul My seat

I’ve just entered this photo in a salon – I am waiting anxiously for the outcome of the salon. I am a bit worried about the wing of the one Bulbul touching the frame/edge of the photo at the top.

___________________________________

The two other photos submitted for the club evening were also in the Nature division:

Cheetah chase

Details of photo were also posted earlier in my trip report on Mashatu. I got a silver (9/15) award for this photo. I knew it was not really club or salon photo but to me it was (and still is) a very emotional photo. Once again – just to show you that emotional photos are not always the outstanding photos. Photography principles are even more important to adhere to when it comes to competition and salon photos.

___________________________________________

Little egret flying

Once again details were posted in my trip report on the Chobe River. I received a gold award (12/15) for this photo. This is now an example of a non-emotional photo. The original photo is not a “wow” photo and I almost deleted it. But after a second look and a little bit of cropping and exposure correction along with a few strong photography principles in place, the photo is now a club and salon type of photo. This photo was already entered in national salon and received a COM award (more about it in the next post).

____________________________________

 

The set subject for the evening was food photography and I’ve entered two photos:

Strawberry and creams

A very complicated setups to get this result of a photo (some complicated Photoshop activities to get the exposure right – no manipulation) and it scored 11/15 (gold award).

_________________________________

Glass of wine with a difference

The details of this photo were also discussed in a previous post (photography courses) and all I can say that it is a very complicated photo (6 photos in 1 to get the exposure and light just right). It got a gold award (12/15) from the judges.

____________________________

Message to take home:

One of judges made a very important comment during the judging process (1 & 2 star judging): “Stay with the basic principles in photography until you’ve mastered it. Only then can you try to do something totally different. One must know what one is doing.” I also discover the meaning of “Learn to walk before you start running” very early during my photography courses. Just a thought to think about.

Until the next camera club meeting – keep shooting.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

