Wild Photo Mag Landscape competition

I am a subscriber of the Wild Photo Mag – an electronic magazine on nature and wildlife photography. Last month I saw the monthly photo challenge was about landscape and I thought: “Maybe I can give it a try with some of my landscape photos taken during our recent landscape workshop with Hougaard Malan and Shem Chompion in the southern part of Namibia (March 2012). So I decided to entry a few of my favourite photos and what a surprise when Andre (editor) contacted me a week or tow ago asking me for a higher resolution photo to be published in the next issue of the magazine.

And there it was, one of my very first non-salon competition entries and the winner of the landscape monthly challenge of the Wild Photo Mag:

Sunrise in Dead Vlei 2

(Nikon D3S, Nikon 17-35mmf2.8 lens @ 19mm, ISO200, f11, bracketing function.)

________________________

For those who are interested – the address of the magazine:

http://www.wildphotomag.co.za/Current_Magazine.html

And the issue:

http://www.wildphotomag.co.za//July_August2012/July2012LQ/JulyAUgust2012LQ.html

This was not an easy shot for me. We had to prepare ourself (me and the wife) before sunrise by finding a great composition, setup the camera, shoot a few shots to get everything ready and then we had to wait for about 15 minutes for the sun to rise above the dune. Once the sun starts to rise above the dune, one only has a minute or even less to take the photo(s) (just to get right amount of sunlight to create the atmosphere). I did use a kind of HDR processing to develop the photo.

Just a few weeks ago a submitted the photo to our mentorship program site and Prof Hennie Cronje (one of our mentors) gave me advice about the development of the photo. So I did it and submit the photo for the challenge. Thanks, Prof Hennie for the advice.

Message to take home:

Listen to the advice given by other people on your photos. Use some of the advice to your advantage and do not take it personally.

I am still learning the trade of photography and will do so until…….?

,

  1. #1 by hogsbackphotos on July 8, 2012 - 5:42 pm

    Weereens geluk Willem. Dit lyk my jy maak nou ‘n gewoonte daarvan om te presteer. Dit is ‘n goeie gewoonte. Hou so aan. Ek bewonder jou fotos en sien uit na jou volgende plasings.

  2. #2 by Wieda on July 10, 2012 - 8:52 am

    Baie geluk Willem. Dit is werklik ‘n besondere foto. Dankie dat ek deur jou lens die pragtige natuur kan geniet en waardeer.

  3. #3 by Landi on July 10, 2012 - 8:37 pm

    Geluk, Prof!

  4. #4 by Sandra Grobler on September 20, 2012 - 8:48 am

    Baie geluk Willem – dit is ‘n ongelooflike mooi foto – ekskuus – ek kan nog nie kommentaar lewer op fotos anders as om te sê dis mooi nie – my kennis daarvoor is heeltemal te beperk. Hier is tonne inligting en ek geniet myself nou gate uit om ALLES te lees EN te leer.

    • #5 by whk139 on September 20, 2012 - 9:17 am

      Hi Sandra, thanks for the comment. No problem – you do not have to be an expert to give an opinion. In the beginning – just look at the photo and let you eye tells you what is it that you do not like about the photo. I would love to hear your opinion.

Leave a Reply

