A trip report – Chobe River, Botswana (June 1-4, 2012)

A few weeks ago my wife decided that we can do with a weekend away. And you can only quest what she had in mind. Yes, you are right – another wildlife photography trip. And there we are going on another Lou Coetzer boat safari trip on the Chobe River in Botswana. This was my second trip on Lou’s photography boat and I was so looking forward to it. I did enjoy my first trip on the boat very much although I was very anxious (being a total newbie to photography and going on my first ever photography safari with professional photographers). However, I got some stunning photos (according to my standards) and I am still entering photos taken during that trip into national and international salons.

Just before I continue with the actual trip report – how about some of those memorable photos from the first trip:

(Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mmf4 fixed lens with 1.4 convertor = 850mm, 1/3200, f8, ISO800, exposure = -1.00, WB = sun, Aperture mode, 7.5meters from subject)

(Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mmf4 fixed lens with 1.4 convertor = 850mm, 1/800, f14, ISO800, exposure = -1.33, WB = sun, Aperture mode, 50meters from subject)

(Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mmf4 fixed lens, 1/2000, f6.3, ISO800, exposure = -1.00, WB = sun, Aperture mode, 40meters from subject)

(Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mmf4 fixed lens , 1/640, f6.3, ISO800, exposure = -0.33, WB = sun, Aperture mode, 32meters from subject. The photo won a silver medal at the German International Cup Circuit (DVF) 2012)

(Nikon D3S, Nikon 600mmf4 fixed lens, 1/2000, f7.1, ISO1000, exposure = -0.33, WB = sun, Aperture mode, 15meters from subject)

And then lastly – one of my most successful photos so far in my short time in photography – I posted the photo previously on my blog for those interested in the camera and lens details (same situation as the first photo posted above):

  (The photo already won three national salon medals, five certificate of merites and several national and international acceptance awards)

Just to get you into the mood the trip report of June 1-4, 2012 – the actual trip report and photos to follow.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

