The early days in photography – Bloemfontein Camera club (part 1)

I joined Bloemfontein Camera Club in April 2011 and my first visit to the club (first Tuesday of every month) was also an eye opener for me. The comments of the “judges” on the photos was nothing but …… but that is reality. However, after a few months one gets use to the crit (comments). The best piece of advice I received, was to take/use the crit in a positive manner and not a personal “assualt”. Since then it was a pleasure to attend the meetings. My advice to newbies is not to take the comments of the people at the camera club personally but see it in a positive light. Use it to improve your photografic skills. Make sure that after each monthly (or whenever) you take take one piece of advice home and apply it during your next photo session. That is how I try to become a better photographer – and I hope it is working. Evidence of my improvement, since January 2012 I won three of the four monthly best nature photo in my star rating group. I also started to enter national and international salons as from November 2011 (details to follow). So far I’ve entered about 2o national and international salons and I received acceptances in all of them except for one salon. Just to show you what one can do if you are open-minded and listen to advice from the “gurus”. But it is still important to develop one’s own style within/using good photography principles. It was not only the camera club who taught mer but also some of my other mentors – but the details to be posted in a later post

I submitted my three photos every month since my first visit. One starts with a one star rating when you join the club. To be promoted to a two star member, one needs to accumulate 4 gold awards and 20 points. I was promoted to a two star membership after about 5 months.

The point system used in the camera club: http://www.bkk.co.za/index.php/en/info-for-members/scoring-methods

The promotion system used in the camera club: http://www.bkk.co.za/index.php/en/info-for-members/grading-and-promotions

The following are some of my photos presented as a one star member:

  1. #1 by entaille un compte facebook forum on July 25, 2014 - 5:43 pm

    Your style is unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from.

    Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess
    I will just book mark this site.

Leave a Reply

