Introduction to my blog

Welcome to my blog. My aim with this blog is to (mainly) share my experiences as a photographer with you. I hope you’ll enjoy the journey with me.

I started with photography in 2010 when my wife introduced me to this new exciting world. Before that I’ve tried my hand at photography with a point-and-shoot (mik-en-drukkie) but I didn’t  enjoy it. Only after my wife’s encouragement and support, I decided to buy my first DSLR camera (Nikon D7000 with a standard 70 x 300mm f 5.6 lens). I didn’t know anything about photography, so towards the end 2010 I attended my first ever two short courses in photography presented by Prof Hennie Cronje. And after that it just took off – at such a speed that I almost lost it again as I got very frustated because a lot of things seems  not to be working for me especially the development of the photo (post-processing). Therefore, I decided to attend a few other photography courses including the mentorship programme presented by Fotoskool. My wife and I also joined the Bloemfontein Camera Club in 2011 and learned a lot every month (still do). Currently we are active members of the camera club.

So here I am and here we go.

I’ll start with 3 photos I took in 2009 with the point-and-shoot camera and presented to the camera club as a one star member – just to show you where I started (nevertheless to say – the outcome at the club was a silver score/status for each of them).

  1. #1 by Jannie Labusachagne on September 19, 2012 - 4:05 pm

    Willem your blog is impressive

Leave a Reply

